Posted by: Jason | February 9, 2014

More Thoughts about the Children’s Classes

Hello everyone and I hope that you are feeling fine and dandy. The weather has turned very cold in the past week and very wet as well. Not very nice at all. Here’s hoping that next week will bring warm weather again. It’s Olympic week this week and I’ve been enjoying the coverage. Canada has been doing very well this Olympics which also makes me very happy. We may not be strong at the Summer Olympics, but, we rock the winter.

We’re reaching the end of the year for our children’s classes and I just wanted to say a few words about the past year. I don’t talk about the children’s classes anywhere near as often as I should. We have classes started at about three years old, ranging up into the high school aged classes. Not counting the classes that I have a pre-schools around Kanda and Yukuhashi, we have around sixty children students.

Each month we have a different topic or theme, from things like family and the weather, to favourite foods and locations around the house and town. Additionally, every week we look at phonics and letters as well, to build vocabulary and get the kids reading. The older students begin using textbooks, usually starting in third grade elementary school. Every month, as well, the older students read a short story based on the theme for that month.

I’m very impressed with all my students. They always surprise me with how much and how quickly they can learn new language. It’s very rewarding to me to see the little ones grow into speaking the language. I can only hope that what they learn now, they retain in later years and continue to improve and learn more.

And, as a note to the parents out there, I just want to say thank you very much for the allowing me the privilege of setting your children on the path. It’s such a joy to see them grow and become more proficient. And a lot of laughs too.

Thank you all.

Leave a Reply

Categories

