Posted by: Jason | May 26, 2013

Setting Goals

Hello everyone. I hope that you are feeling fine. The weather has continued to be beautiful this May and I’m enjoying every minute of it. Just had the sports festival at Baba Elementary School today and it was a lot of fun. Great people and lots of games. I am really learning to enjoy the sports days.

In the past few weeks, I’ve been having an ongoing discussion with a friend of mine about goals in classes. Obviously, all classes should have goals. I agree with that. Sometimes the goals aren’t perfectly clear, but, they are there. I think that my biggest goal for all my students, of any age, is that they will be able to study on their own. They will be able to continue to practice and learn the language on their own without my help. I want to empower the students to be independent and not need me to keep showing them new bits of language every week.

For the adult classes, this is why a lot of our lower level classes focus on grammar. If you can look at a sentence and understand the structure of that sentence, you can usually get a lot of meaning from that sentence, even if you don’t know every word. For example, if I said, “I am going to the frozbot tomorrow.” you won’t know what a frozbot is. That’s okay. It’s a totally made up word.

But, if you break down the grammar, you can make a pretty good guess what a frozbot is. “I am going to the _____” is almost always followed by a place. So, even though you don’t exactly know what a frozbot is, you should be able to guess that it’s some sort of place. With a few more sentences, you can probably figure it out on your own.

That’s what I want you to be able to do. That is the goal that I’m working towards in all the classes. In the higher level classes, grammar takes something of a back seat, but, it’s still there. Again, the goal is to get you to be independent.

So, what are your goals? What do you want out of the English classes that you take? Why are you studying English? What are your goals?

Leave a Reply

Categories

