Posted by: Jason | April 23, 2012

Sorry, I’m a little Late

Sorry about that ladies and gentlemen. Last night I was just pooped and I went to bed very early. So, you get me on Monday morning, rather than on Sunday night. Not to worry, I certainly have not forgotten.

Just to let you all know, next week is Golden Week and Able School will be closed from the 30th of April until the 7th of May.

A little bit of late news today. Over the past few weeks, we did a short story, Save the Date by Joe Zieja in our high level class. Fun story featuring Mayans and magical calendars. Very funny. I had contacted Mr. Zieja to use his story in class and he was so great. Just sent along the story quick as you please and let me use it. I think he was very happy. He had this to write on his blog

A few days later, I got an email from an unassuming gentleman in Japan. That’s right, Japan. A member of the Able School of English had liked my story so much he wanted to use it as a piece of the school curriculum. I can only assume, therefore, that he wanted to teach his children a.) how to make themselves the outcasts of society, b.) how to enchant a calendar or c.) how to avoid being killed by a hoard of Mayan warriors. These are the only things I think are educationally valuable about that story. Needless to say, I am flattered. It means that not only am I international, but that my strangeness will be talked about in languages I don’t understand.

Thank you very much Mr. Zieja and I look forward to more of your stories in the future.

Leave a Reply

Categories

