Posted by: Jason | February 12, 2012

Self Motivation

I went to an interesting discussion group last night.  A group of language teachers got together to listen to a presentation by a pair of professors from a local university.  They were talking about how to get students to be more self-motivated.  I wonder how you feel about your own motivation.  What makes you want to study English?  Is it work?  Travel?  What keeps you trying?

In the presentation, they suggested that the teacher give a set of goals each week and then have the students evaluate themselves after they finished the lesson.  I’m not sure if I would want to do it that often, but I do think that self-evaluation is a good idea.  Stepping back and looking at what you have done and what you might want to do better.

I’m still not entirely sure what I’m going to do with this, to be honest.  Before I go any further down the road, I have to ask all of you reading this:  Why do you study English?  What do you want to get out of studying?

Leave a comment below and we’ll talk about it more.  Of, if you like, email me and we can discuss it privately.  Either way, let me know.

Leave a Reply

Categories

