Posted by: Jason | February 27, 2011

An Announcement and a Bit More

Hello everyone. I hope that you are all fine and dandy. I had a very good day today. I went to my younger daughter’s pre-school and watched her perform in a play. Lots of fun. They also had a professional troupe come in and do a play as well. They did a number of short skits from around Asia. For example they did a story about a fox who pretends to be a human in order to trick an old woman out of food from Sri Lanka. Very fun.

First off, an announcement. I’ve talked about this in class, but, I thought I’d make it official here. The pot-luck party at the school is on March 27 at 1 PM. Everyone is welcome and you can certainly bring friends if you want. Just remember, everyone is supposed to bring one dish and we will all share at the party. Please, nothing that needs to be cooked. I’m hoping to keep this simple and easy, so no barbecue or okanamiyaki or things like that. Cook it first. I’m really looking forward to seeing what everyone will make.

Now, on to the meat of this little post.

How about a little grammar? Grammar is fun. When I first started teaching, many students would ask me grammar questions and I really had a hard time answering. I had not studied English grammar in many years and I could not tell the difference between a gerund and a hole in the ground. But, I really didn’t want to say, “I don’t know” because that would look very bad. So, I hit the books and brushed up on my grammar. Now, I’m pretty good at it, although, there are still times when a student can stump me with a question.

For example, what is the difference between look, see and watch? When I first hit this question, I couldn’t answer. I knew there was a difference, and I could use them, but, I couldn’t tell you why. Now, I can. Look requires a preposition (at, in, on, etc.) and refers to the person actively trying to see something. See is not active. It is what comes into the person’s eyes without any effort on the person’s part. Watch is the easiest one. You watch something doing something. “I watch TV” doesn’t mean that you are looking at the television, but rather, that you are looking at the action on the screen.

So, here’s one for all of you. What is the difference between hear and listen?

Leave a Reply

Categories

