Posted by: Jason | January 9, 2011

Looking Back and Looking Ahead

Hello to all and a happy New Year. Yes, it’s been a couple of weeks since my last post and I’m sorry about that. My parents were here and I just really didn’t have the time to keep up with things. But, the holidays are over and it’s time to get back to work. I thought I’d start off the year with a bit of a look back at 2010 and then tell you about what we have planned for 2011.

2010 was a good year for Able School. We moved into our current location a bit more than two years ago and it seems to have really paid off. New students are finding their way to our door and we’ve even seen some old faces return, which has been a pleasant surprise. Our childrens programs are going very well with four full classes every week and several other classes on the go. Akiko has really outdone herself with these classes and the students have come so far in such a short time. The adult classes continue to be a real joy for me as well. To give some perspective, the first Christmas party I ran for the adult classes, back in 2003 or 4, we had six or seven students come. This year we had almost fifteen and there could easily have been more. Every year we seem to be growing and I couldn’t be happier.

Looking forward to 2011, I hope to make some changes in the classes. Now that I can show videos fairly easily, I would like to have a video class once in a while. Take a five or ten minute segment from a TV show or movie and talk about the language that was used and work on listening skills. It’s also a great way to show cultural stuff too. The listening classes seem to be pretty popular, so, we’ll keep doing that as well.

Something I would like to do is have a few more parties and get togethers for all of you. Every month we’ve been doing the game night where four or five of us get together to play a board game. Now that we have lots of new faces, maybe we could expand that a bit and run more than one game at a time. Or something like that. I’d also like to have a pot-luck party in April or perhaps May and invite everyone. These are still just ideas I’m thinking about, so, when I know more, I’ll tell you.

But, with that in mind, what would you like to see in 2011? What kinds of activities or classes interest you? Is there something you’d like to see more of? Less of? Let me know and I’ll see what I can do.

Here’s looking forward to another fantastic year. Thank you all for making my job so much fun.

Jason.

Responses

  1. I looking forward to pot-luck party.
    I’ll make soup!

  2. A pot-luck party likes so fun! Uh, can I make some food…?

    I want to BBQ!

  3. BBQ is maybe a bit difficult. The idea is that we don’t have to cook anything at the party. Everything is already cooked. If we have a BBQ, we have to clean it too.


Leave a Reply

Categories

